DIY Wedding Card Box

I was super excited when my cousin asked me if I could help out with making a few last details for her wedding next weekend. One item she asked me to make was a card box. After a quick google search I found this greenhouse from IKEA that was both large enough and had an opening wide enough to slot cards through. Only problem was it wouldn’t arrive until the day before we are supposed to leave for the wedding. So, I packed both kids in the car and headed to IKEA. After what felt like an eternity of power walking through the entire store, I finally located the greenhouse and was on my merry way.

Supplies:

  • Frog tape
  • Stencil
  • Alphabet letter stickers
  • Craft paint
  • Sponge brush
  • Spray paint
  • Floral branches

The greenhouse has a protective film already covering the glass, but knowing that spray paint has a tendency to get everywhere, I played it safe and taped off the glass using frog tape, then I spray painted all the panels. Once the spray paint was dry, I removed all of the frog tape and the protective film. {tip: if you slightly over lap the frog tape as you’re lining the glass it will pull off in one sheet}

Next I decided where I wanted the stencil (I opted for left aligned) and taped it in place. Using a sponge brush, I gently sponged craft paint to the inside of the stencil. Once the paint was dry I removed the stencil and added the alphabet letters. To finish up I cut a few floral branches and placed them inside.

IMG_1583

Voila a simple card box! Follow me on instagram @_alittlediy for upcoming projects and sneak peeks!

wedding card box

Leave a comment